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             APPLICATION FOR A NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE BASED ON PARENTAGE

This form is used to ADD, REMOVE, or REPLACE information regarding the father and/or mother listed on the original birth certificate according to an establishment of PATERNITY or a COURT ORDER.  


 Child’s original birth information: Type or Print in Blue/Black Ink

 __________________________________________________  Date of Birth:____________/__________/____________ Place of Birth:____________________________________________, Texas            

           Full name of child as registered at birth                                                                                                   month              day                  year                                                    city                            

Father’s name:________________________________________________________________  Mother’s full maiden name:________________________________________________________________________________

                 
We/I hereby request a new birth certificate be filed as evidenced by:

   PLEASE CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING:

· Attached certified copy of court decree (must send all pages of the court order)   OR

· A properly completed Acknowledgment of Paternity (form VS-159.1)  (Date form was faxed to Vital Statistics Unit (VSU) or signed before a certified entity: _________________)   OR

· Attached certified copy of the BIOLOGICAL parents’ marriage license  

· A properly completed Rescission of Acknowledgment of Paternity (form VS-158) (Date Mailed to VSU _______________ )


INFORMATION TO BE PLACED ON NEW BIRTH CERTIFICATE:

FULL NEW NAME OF CHILD (may require a court order):____________________________/_____________________/________________________________

                                                                                                                First                                                                               Middle                                                                       Last

Father’s Name:_____________________/______________/_____________________ Date of Birth:______/_____/________ Place of Birth:___________________________________

                                           First                                             Middle                                Last                                                              month      day          year                                                     State or Foreign Country

Mother’s Full Maiden Name:___________________/______________/_________________________ Date of Birth:__​____/_____/_______Place of Birth:______________________

                                                            First                                      Middle                                  Maiden                                                                 month      day           year                                        State or Foreign Country    


WARNING: The Penalty for knowingly making a false statement in this form can be 2-10 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. (Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 195).

___________________________________________________________________________                 _____________________________________________________________________________

Signature of FATHER or Legal Guardian swearing to this affidavit                                            Signature of MOTHER or Legal Guardian swearing to this affidavit

______________________________________________________________________               ________________________________________________________________________

Father’s address                                                city                    state             zip code                      Mother’s address                                                city                state           zip code    

(_____)_____________________________                                                                                    (______)__________________________________

Daytime telephone number                                                                                                                       Daytime telephone number

Sworn to and subscribed before me, this _________day of ______________________,               Sworn to and subscribed before me, this __________day  of ______________________, 20_________.                                                                                                                                    20___________. 

 _____________________________________________________________________                 _______________________________________________________________________

              Signature of Notary Public, County Clerk, or other person                                                                                                           Signature of Notary Public, County Clerk, or other person

                              authorized to administer oaths                                                                                                                                                            authorized to administer oaths

  ______________________________________________________________________________________                     _________________________________________________________________________________________

                                  Printed name and title                                                                                                                                                                             Printed name and title

SEE REVERSE SIDE FOR INSTRUCTIONS
( The fee for filing a new birth certificate is $25.00   An additional fee of $22.00 must be included for a certified copy of the new birth certificate.
Mail this completed and NOTARIZED application with either the attached evidence (certified copy of court order/ marriage license), or filed an Acknowledgment of Paternity, and the required fee to:

                                                                                             TEXAS VITAL STATISTICS

                                                                                             PO BOX 12040

                                                                                            AUSTIN TX  78711-2040

VS-166 revised 09/2011                

THIS FORM (with an attached court order or marriage license, or a filed Acknowledgment of Paternity in the AOP Registry) MAY BE USED TO:

(  Add the biological father’s name and information to the birth certificate when the father’s information is blank on the original birth certificate.  Evidence needed: a certified copy of a court order establishing the paternity of the child, OR a filed Acknowledgment of Paternity in the AOP Registry if the biological parents are not married to each other, OR the marriage license of the biological parents if they are now married to each other, 

(  Change the name and information of the father listed on a child’s birth certificate to the biological father’s name and information.  This requires a certified copy of a court order OR an Acknowledgment of Paternity signed by all three parties (the biological mother, the biological father, and the father presently listed on the birth certificate) and filed in the Acknowledgment of Paternity Registry.

(  Remove the father or mother’s information.  This requires a certified copy of a court order.  Please Note: A Termination of Parental Rights will not remove a biological parent’s information from the birth certificate unless the court order specifically states the biological parent’s name and information are to be removed.

(  Substitute the Intended Parents’ names on the birth certificate based on a gestational agreement.  This requires a certified copy of a court order.

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS:

(   If a marriage license or an Acknowledgment of Paternity is being used as evidence, BOTH parents must sign the application before a notary public.  

(   If a certified copy of a court order is being used as evidence to change the birth certificate, only one parent is required to sign the application before a notary public. 

· If you are the father listed and you are having your name removed, a certified copy of a court order is required to make any change to the child’s name.  You are no longer a qualified applicant to receive a copy of the child’s new birth certificate.  Please submit only the $25.00 filing fee.  You will receive notification when the change is made.

(   A legal guardian or the father listed on the birth certificate may sign the application before a notary public if a certified copy of a court order establishing or removing paternity is presented as evidence with this application.

· If one or both parents are deceased, a court order is required to file a new birth certificate to add the                biological father’s name and information.

· If a birth certificate has previously been changed based on paternity or a court order, a court order is needed to file a new birth certificate with different information. 

NO CHANGES WILL BE MADE TO A BIRTH CERTIFICATE WITHOUT THE FILING FEE

The fee to file a new birth certificate based on paternity, removal of a father or mother’s information, or a gestational agreement is $25.00.  The additional fee for a certified copy of the new birth record is $22.00.   If you have any questions, please call (888) 963-7111.
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